Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am in my first year of A levels, and I am doing:
    - Business
    - French
    - Philosophy
    - Creative Writing

I am also thinking about dropping on A level next year, and taking up another AS such as Media or Photography?

Do you think Universities would respect these choices if I got As in all of these?

ReputationRep:
    Totally depends what you want to apply for- any ideas there?

ReputationRep:
    "Creative Writing"? Never thought there was an A Level for that. Is it really better than, say, English?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Romula)
    Totally depends what you want to apply for- any ideas there?
    Not sure what I definitely want to apply for, but I know I'm interested in:

-Business (PR/Marketing)
    -Journalism

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by shawn_o1)
    "Creative Writing"? Never thought there was an A Level for that. Is it really better than, say, English?
    Well it is an A level. It is a combination or english language and english literature and covers; novels, scripts, newspaper articles, journalism, plays and non-fiction etc.

You analyse texts like english literature and then make a portfolio of your written work.
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Welcome Squad
    (Original post by lottiegrf)

-Business (PR/Marketing)
    -Journalism
    I would've thought that you should've taken English and Economics instead of Creative Writing and Business

+ What is Philosophy like?

ReputationRep:
    Depending on your grades and where you aim to go, choosing Creative Writing (which is less reputable) over an English (Lit is preferred over Lang) might hinder you. Look up "preferred subjects" of the unis you plan to go to, especially if you're thinking of RG unis, but if not, don't worry!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lottiegrf)

-Business (PR/Marketing)
    -Journalism