Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Will the Russian Air Force (RuAF) take me as a pilot? watch

ReputationRep:
    Welcome all,

Its been just about my lifelong dream to become a military pilot and I am currently in my final year of secondary education here in Scotland (United Kingdom). I've been checking the RAF/RN/AAC recruitment news regularly and have found a common trend of budget cuts and both pilot and aircraft redundancies (not to mention how competitive competition already is...), which for an already academically struggling student makes it even more difficult to get enlisted.

I've recently began looking around other militaries (with significant airforces) which recruit foreigners as a last resort and found that:

Denmark:
    • Recruits Foreign Nationals living in Demark into Danish Armed Forces,
    • Must have a good command of Danish language,
    Canada:
    • It is reported that Royal Canadian Air Force hires foreign pilots to fly front-line military aircraft on operational capacity (presumably recruits ex-military pilots only),
    Russia:
    • Russian Armed Forces accepts foreigners of any country into their ranks on five-year contracts and will be eligible for citizenship after three years,
    • Must have a good command of Russian language,
    • Must have a clean criminal record.

After scraping the surface with research into joining the most promising Air Force, the RuAF, I am still unsure if they recruit pilots and sites such as www.eng.mil.ru don't give much information either. Would anyone here be able to enlighten me on whether they accept foreigners as pilots and/or further elaborate on this?

Thank you for your time.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Section80)
    Welcome all,