Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I graduated from University in 2014 with 68% (2:1) in International Relations and Politics. I did a few history modules, i also have an A in A-Level History and A* at GCSE Level.

I am concerned that I won't be accepted due to my lack of history-related degree experience - as it was only a small amount of modules that were history related (and ironically where I got my highest marks).

Does anyone have any advice or experience for something similar?

I have classroom experience of 3 weeks at a primary school and 6 weeks as a private and group tutor for ages from 7-17 years old in History and English.

Am I doomed already? I will be crushed if they say no, I'm an avid history fanatic, member of local groups and spend most of my free-time reading work of historians.

It would be great to hear from anyone who has gone through similar.

ReputationRep:
    Email some unis whose pgce courses interest you. The history modules from your degree should definitely help. A levels and GCSEs may be less likely to be taken into account.

The absolute worst that will happen is they advise you taking a PgCert/PgDip/MA in history.

(I had a similar experience when making subject specific enquiries for pgce courses).

Let us know how it goes

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm also a Pol/IR grad (2005) and now an NQT teaching history and A Level Politics, so it's definitely possible!

I trained on a school direct (history) salaried route - when I applied I was very careful to show how th whole of my degree was applicable to history, including skills such as evaluation and essay writing. I also spent a year in.paid employment in a school prior to applying which helped.

Oh, and I got a D (!!!) in A Level History, which wasn't as horrendous in 2002 as it would be now, I still went to an RG uni.

Good luck!

ReputationRep: