Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Should I drop out of university? Please help watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

Decided to post here because i'm completely torn - I don't know whether to drop out of my uni course or not. I'm currently studying journalism at a very good university, and i'm around 2 months in.

I decided I wanted to do the course pretty much a year and a half ago (so its not always been a main passion of mine). I've always been pretty good at english and writing, and wanted to pursue feature writing or magazine Journalism - I thought a career in either of these would be a very good fit for me, as I love to be creative and write. I was also pretty chuffed that I got into this particular university as it has produced some pretty successful people - needless to say, its a very good opportunity.

I had the impression that my course would cover aspects of journalism that would allow me to be creative, but everything we have covered so far (news-based journalism, news writing, interviews etc) I have not engaged with at all, however hard I try. I did understand that this would be a significant part of the course, but I didn't think I would hate it this much. I find every task uninteresting and difficult - I also find some things we have to do uncomfortable because I can be very shy at times. I really have attempted to get out of my comfort zone, but just end up embarrassing myself. You have to be very outgoing and sometimes pushy, and I really struggle with this.

There are modules that focus on magazine journalism and feature writing next year, along with a lot more news-based stuff, but I find myself questioning if this is really what I want to do? My tutors have mentioned to me that the magazine industry is extremely competitive and demanding, and possibly not right for me.