Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Self-Taught Economics AS watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    How feasible would it be for me to teach myself the Econ A/S course in a year alongside 3A2s and another AS?
    I already do Business Studies so hopefully would be at some sort of advantage in terms of understanding and economic understanding.
    Is it the kindof subject that can be learnt through text-book and current affair reading or more like Maths(and probably loadsa others) that really need teacher explanation.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jumpunderaboat)
    How feasible would it be for me to teach myself the Econ A/S course in a year alongside 3A2s and another AS?
    I already do Business Studies so hopefully would be at some sort of advantage in terms of understanding and economic understanding.
    Is it the kindof subject that can be learnt through text-book and current affair reading or more like Maths(and probably loadsa others) that really need teacher explanation.
    Just out of curiosity, with 3 other A2s and another AS why would you want to have another AS?
    business studies would help, but I think that self taught economics would be quite hard.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jumpunderaboat)
    I'm taking the other AS as unis now look at you having 3A2s + an AS and the one I took this year went pretty badly plus its in Media which isn't that well respects. However if I took Econ it wouldn't be to benefit my UCAS form since most unis only accept Busi or Econ, but it would be because I really enjoy reading and learning about the subject and intend to do it at uni.
    Chances are I won't do it as the workload for A2 is meant to be much bigger than AS, just thought I'd research the possibility.