Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hiya
    So I'm currently in my 2nd year of my Nursing degree and after 3 hospital ward settings and 2 community settings on placement its clear to me that Hospital Nursing really isn't what I enjoy. I just really don't like the setting, there's just something about it that isn't appealing to me and I find it really limiting for me. Now I've heard from Nurses throughout my training and in lectures that there's a big push for more community nurses in the future to drive preventive care rather than acute setting care. And that more newly qualified nurses will go into the community. And along the way I have met a few nurses who have qualifed from their degree and gone straight into District Nursing. For me I feel District Nursing is a very real career choice for me as I loved getting out and about in new areas of the city I study in and encountering varying levels of living conditions for patients and their families, it is a real eye opener, and I really enjoy the ability to dress wounds to your decision on its progress and getting to know the families along the way. I've researched into this job but a lot of the time it says you need one to two years of experience as an adult nurse. If I'm honest, I would hope to get into district nursing when I qualify and as bad as it sounds to avoid hospital nursing as much as I can, does anyone know how likely it is to get into community nursing when i qualify in two years? Or if there are opportunites outside of the hospital setting where I could gain a years worth of experience as an adult nurse in order to get into community if i need the experience ?

ReputationRep: