Turn on thread page Beta

Despise my degree and want to do something else, but not sure what?? watch

ReputationRep:
    Basically, I feel that I rushed into university. After finishing a levels, I went straight into university. I applied to study business and human resources at the University of Hertfordshire. The university is nice, the people are nice. However I regret doing my course. The reason for that is due to the fact that I despise mathematical issues, and within this business module, other than the human resources part, its all I do. I am a student who is capable of doing work, no matter how hard it is. However I feel that with this course, I just have absolutely no passion or interest for business. I know it gives big money and a lot of people are into business, but for me I'm not interested enough into it to study it as a degree. Human resources seems more fascinating as in the future I see myself working with human problems and dealing with them rather than businesses.
    What can I do? a gap year to just do HR or another choice?
    sorry just a confused 18 year old 1st year

ReputationRep:
    Well, if you like the university but not the course, you could always ask your tutor/adviser about changing course. From looking at your uni's website, it seems there are two other undergrad courses that involve HR: "Human Resources Management/Human Resources with a Language" and "Human Resources and Information Systems". Have a look at the course content and stuff. Do either of those courses appeal to you? If so, I'm sure an adviser at uni would listen and you might have a chance to transfer, and since your course also involves HR, you might be able to transfer straight away (although you might still have to wait until next year). Even if it's not possible to transfer (although I feel like this is unlikely), a tutor might be able to give you some extra resources/different ways to approach the parts of the course you don't like, or suggest alternative options.