Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Am I where I'm meant to be? (Driving Lessons) watch

ReputationRep:
    I've had 6 hours of driving lessons (3 lessons each consisting of 2 hours)
    Currently I've learnt how to start the car and the basics of actually driving it. Ive also gone up to 3rd gear and am changing gears many times in each lesson. In my last 2 hours I started learning how to turn into roads (i.e. main roads to minor roads and visa versa). Thats about all I've done, and I was wondering whether I am currently at a place that I'm meant to be? I just dont want a driving instructor that stretches the lessons in order to get more money.

Thanks for the help .

ReputationRep:
    it all depends on you. some peeople will be quicer than other, wereas other will be a lot slow.

ReputationRep:
    On average you need around the same number of hours lessons as your age + some practice in between. Sounds fine to me. Trust your driving instructor there's little reason why they would string you along and there is higher risk to their reputation to do this than to put you forward for a test when you're not ready.

ReputationRep:
    I see. What would the average person have done/will be doing at 6 hours?

ReputationRep:
    You are doing well so far. You're about on the same part as a average person.

ReputationRep:
    What i found is that the first 6 hours are based purely on control, everyone starts in quiet residential areas to build confidence. If by hour 12 you aren't on main roads then i would start to question your instructor's motive. There should be lesson plans in place, where as soon as your butt is in the car they tell you the goal for the day and ask for your input and the most important thing to remember - ask questions constantly. No question is considered silly to ask when learning a new skill. Have confidence in yourself.

Best of luck

ReputationRep: