Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Let me start off with some background information about myself. I am a non UK/EU student currently in my final year of bachelors degree, majoring in Physics, in my home country. Since the last two and half years or so, I have become increasingly interested in Computer Science.

I enjoy theory very much and the fact that in CS, I can study the theory and also convert it to application myself is something that appeals to me.
    I have intermediate level programming proficiency in Python and C, and basic knowledge of Java, Javascript, Ruby, and MATLAB/Octave.
    My main interest is in Machine Learning and I also enjoy AI, Algorithms and Data Structures, Data Analysis and Theory of Computation very much.

That's enough background knowledge. Getting to the main point, I wish to study CS in the UK since it's one of the few places where you can get a one year conversion degree in computer science with a background in some other subject.
    However, living in the UK and especially in London is very expensive. Add to that, the Imperial College tuition fee for non UK/EU students is ridiculously high and funding is very limited.

So, assuming I get into a London college like Imperial, taking a loan is the only option left for me. The problem comes in repaying the loan. It is senseless to even consider repaying such a loan without earning in Pounds. So getting a job in the UK is absolutely necessary.

So I would be extremely grateful if some of you good people who have already graduated from a conversion program from Imperial or UCL or some similar college in UK can inform me about the job prospects and the job situation there after graduation.

Also, what is the job situation for a non CS bachelors degree holder graduating directly with a Master's degree in Machine Learning or Big Data?

I greatly appreciate any help. Thank you!

ReputationRep: