Turn on thread page Beta

working in the afternoon watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, i am currently doing a phd and really struggle with doing any work after about 3pm and i am just wondering if other people experience this in general and how i can get myself to keep up the momentum? thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Different people are better at different times of the day. I cannot be constructive before about 10:00 no matter when I get up. I really 'wake up' and do my most productive work after about 8 pm. and on into the night. About 3pm I really flag and get nothing done until about 5 p.m.

My wife is wide awake and buzzing at 6 a.m. She'll leap out of bed, into the shower then straight down to do any kind of complex work. At 2p.m. she is desperate for a nap and, when at home, goes to bed and passes out for 2 hours. After 6 p.m. she really struggles with anything needing a fully-functioning brain.

When I have worked on helpdesks, rotas have never worked. There are people who like to get in really early, clear the backlog from the previous day, then go home at 3 p.m. They are great. Then there are people who roll in at 10:30, plod through the day but stay until 7 p.m. to finish the really tricksy calls nobody else could fix. They are great. Then there are the people who want to do 9 to 5, no more, no less, who provide the cover during the peak time. They are great. Put these people on a shift system and productivity plummets. Let them work the hours they want and you'll have a really efficient helpdesk.

If you flag at 3 p.m., plan your day around that. Make that the time you do the mindless stuff. Do the washing up, tidy your desk, go for a walk, have a snooze, make dinner, go shopping, send those social texts, respond to the emails you've ignored all day, catch up on TSR, go to the library, water the plants, put the washing on.

ReputationRep: