Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Advice with a career in finance ...please! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi folks looking for some advice on what my options are with a finance degree.

I graduated in the summer with a 2.1 in Finance with Economics. Initially, I thought i couldn't handle a career in the financial sector but its quickly becoming apparent that I don't have a whole host of good viable alternatives.

Essentially I see finance in this way, I could apply and potentially work back office (operations etc) and essentially be stuck there to an extent with not much room for changing.

Alternatively I could work in other departments of the banks lets say Finance, where I would need to study for an ICAS or some other pro qualification. Now my problem here is that I don't enjoy finance enough to have my life consumed by it. I don't want to work 8-6 then come home and study for pro exams all night and rinse and repeat for years. That is no way to live in my eyes.

However, I feel if i don't succumb to it, I run the risk of being stuck in a job going nowhere in a hurry.

So essentially I am looking for some advice on career options in finance and whether or not you folks believe I need to accept I am going have to study for even more years after university......

What is the thoughts ? I'd appreciate any help. I am spinning in circles trying to figure out what to do and as the time passes the chances of landing a job diminish further and further.

Please and Thanks folks.

ReputationRep: