Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone. I've received conditional offers from both Bath and Edinburgh for chemical engineering, but I am finding it difficult to choose between one of them. I haven't personally been to any of these two places, but I've heard great things (and not so great things :X) about both.

Bath / A*AA, [5 Years MEng + year in placement]:
    Unistats rating: 100%
    From what I've read, lecturers/professors are all very friendly and the course itself is amazing. The city is beautiful and relatively quiet (as compared to London), and there are plenty of clubs and societies. Bath is also very well known for being sports-heavy. My only concern for Bath, really, is whether or not it stacks up to Edinburgh in terms of prestige. How important is prestige in terms of employment rates? Bath has very strong links to industry, but being an international student, I'm not exactly sure that it will be as easy for me to get a job in the UK.

Edinburgh [5 Years MEng] / AAA:
    Unistats rating: 69%
    Edinburgh is well known for a lively city-atmosphere and beautiful, mountainous sceneries (though i haven't seen it for myself). There is a huge number of clubs, societies and sports activities in the university. The university itself is incredibly prestigious and is very well known worldwide.

However from what I've read and heard, the course isn't that great because the lecturers are "cold and unapproachable" and lack passion for their subject. This is obviously a huge concern because I'm going to be possibly spending the next 5 years of my life under these lecturers. I think the teaching is the main reason for its low ratings on unistats. I also read somewhere else that the University is 'cold and depressing': How true is this?