Turn on thread page Beta

Engineering Apprenticeships for graduates of other disciplines watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

I am a recent graduate with a degree in Chinese & Economics from SOAS. Despite this I would like to become a mechanical engineer and if circumstances had been different I almost certainly have taken this option when I left school. As it was, I had the opportunity to start learning Chinese from GCSE level and took it.

Starting another degree in engineering doesn't seem to be an option at this stage as I already have a degree and this limits the funding I can get. Therefore I'm researching the possibility of starting an apprenticeship and have already sent some applications.

Unfortunately some firms are reluctant to take on graduates. Are there any apprentices out there who know their company wouldn't mind employing a graduate at the entry level? Does anyone work for a company who might value a Chinese speaking engineer in the future and would be willing to train one?

Any help or suggestions at this stage would be much appreciated, thanks very much!
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Olnberg)
    Hi All,

I am a recent graduate with a degree in Chinese & Economics from SOAS. Despite this I would like to become a mechanical engineer and if circumstances had been different I almost certainly have taken this option when I left school. As it was, I had the opportunity to start learning Chinese from GCSE level and took it.

Starting another degree in engineering doesn't seem to be an option at this stage as I already have a degree and this limits the funding I can get. Therefore I'm researching the possibility of starting an apprenticeship and have already sent some applications.