Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Just scraped a first at undergrad - will this count against me? watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying a masters course. Next year I want to apply to do a PhD. I'm working to get a distinction this year (fingers crossed!) and I do have work experience in my general area both paid and voluntary. Regardless, I know how competitive PhDs (and funding) are and I'm worried that my undergrad mark might disadvantage me.

I know a first is good and I'm super thrilled with it but I only got a straight 70. I know I'll be up against other people who will have achieved higher firsts than me. Do you think it'll make a big difference? Or will exact mark not really matter too much?

Thanks in advance

ReputationRep:
    A First is a First. It doesn't matter how close you were - you did get a First.

So much more is important at PhD level than just grades so don't get fixated on this aspect.

Yes, it helps that you have obvious proof of your intellectual ability but references and your research proposal are the bits of the application that will be the deal breaker in terms of whether or not you get an interview or not. And btw, those with a 2i would not be that disadvantaged - again, its the rest of the application that is the crucial bit.

ReputationRep:
    Daughter got a 2:1, then did a masters and has secured a dream fully funded PhD. Much more than grades are needed - its all about life skills and people interaction and communication as well as your c.v. Talk to other PhD's in your chosen field for a better handle on things, but don't get hung up on your grades - a first is a first! Good 'luck.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: