larademets
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi,

I am an international student and I am currently applying for Law. I am writing my personal statement, and I wonder whether work experience is really necessary for this? As Law is a vocational course, many universities mention that it is important to have a good understanding of the profession and that work experience, volunteering work, .. is important for that.
I am one year ahead in high school, so I am still very young, so that is why I don't have any work experience, because I have only very recently reached the minimum age to work.

Thanks!
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by larademets)
Hi,

I am an international student and I am currently applying for Law. I am writing my personal statement, and I wonder whether work experience is really necessary for this? As Law is a vocational course, many universities mention that it is important to have a good understanding of the profession and that work experience, volunteering work, .. is important for that.
I am one year ahead in high school, so I am still very young, so that is why I don't have any work experience, because I have only very recently reached the minimum age to work.

Thanks!
Law at undergraduate is not a vocational degree. It is an academic subject. You don't need work experience.
EmJ15
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I wouldn't say that work experience is necessary for this course, but it always helps to make you stand out from the rest. Law is quite competitive so it can't do any harm. However, if you haven't got any I wouldn't worry too much about it as long as your academic profile is good and your personal statement is strong.
Hope this helps!
lucybalmforth
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago