Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Work experience watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am an international student and I am currently applying for Law. I am writing my personal statement, and I wonder whether work experience is really necessary for this? As Law is a vocational course, many universities mention that it is important to have a good understanding of the profession and that work experience, volunteering work, .. is important for that.
    I am one year ahead in high school, so I am still very young, so that is why I don't have any work experience, because I have only very recently reached the minimum age to work.

Thanks!
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by larademets)
    Hi,

I am an international student and I am currently applying for Law. I am writing my personal statement, and I wonder whether work experience is really necessary for this? As Law is a vocational course, many universities mention that it is important to have a good understanding of the profession and that work experience, volunteering work, .. is important for that.
    I am one year ahead in high school, so I am still very young, so that is why I don't have any work experience, because I have only very recently reached the minimum age to work.

Thanks!
    Law at undergraduate is not a vocational degree. It is an academic subject. You don't need work experience.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't say that work experience is necessary for this course, but it always helps to make you stand out from the rest. Law is quite competitive so it can't do any harm. However, if you haven't got any I wouldn't worry too much about it as long as your academic profile is good and your personal statement is strong.
    Hope this helps!

ReputationRep: