Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone! I am new to TSR, I am currently doing my MSc in computer science in East London. Being an international student granted me a temporary residence status which sucks because you would have to obtain a local driving license to continue to drive here in the UK.

I did my undergraduate degree in Australia, and drove there for 4 years, and it is very similar to the UK. I also drove 8 years in Kuwait. Keep in mind both times I drove manual and automatic transmission switching between cars. I am also a 4 wheel drive fanatic and own a modified Nissan Patrol (2013 model) for cross country and desert trips.To cut things short, I did a theory test and passed on first go, didnt study anything because I am a teacher by profession and I had to give lessons to a secondary subject (beside GCSE ICT) called traffic awareness back in Kuwait.

I failed my practical driving test 3 times, this test was done in Hornchurch. I never got more than 3 minors, but was given a major each time. Three times my instructor refused to sit with me, and I was failed for road markings, which my instructor says he haven't seen it marked as major in more than 5 years.I took a total of 81 hours worth of driving lessons and paid 1500 GBP (thankfully paid by my employer) for everything including the tests.

I am at a stage where I cannot give up. I had to forget everything about driving and start my learning all over again.During the 12 years of driving, I have 0 accidents, and never claimed for any insurance.

I drove a total of 580,000 KM across 4 vehicles since obtaining my Kuwaiti license, in 11 different countries.