Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Questions about contacting universities via email watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi!
    First of all I apologize if this is the wrong forum to post this, I wasn't quite sure which would be the correct one. I have a few questions that might seem irrelevant but I want to ask them anyway.

So, I'm a student from Finland wanting to come to study in the UK. I've been looking into the schools I will apply to but before I complete my UCAS application I want to contact the schools and make sure I meet the entry requirements. Because I am taking a non-UK qualification the A levels requirements they list are not compatible with my grades.

My problem is I'm not very familiar with the etiquette of writing a formal email in English as it is not my first language. I have no idea how to start and end the emails. As I am not contacting a specific person I cannot address any title or name. Which one would be more advisable, ”Dear Sir/Madam”or ”To Whomever It May Concern” or are neither appropriate? What about concluding a formal email? I remember being taught phrases like ”Sincerely Yours” and ”Yours Faithfully”,are either of these the correct one? Also, am I like supposed to introduce myself in the first paragraph? Is it enough to tell my name and why I'm contacting them?

I sincerely just don't want to come across rude or anything like that. I'd really appreciate it if anyone could help me!
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Most universities will have international qualification information somewhere on their website. Have you tried googling "university name international requirements". If you want to email the admissions tutor and you don't know their name, just say:

Hello,

Ask question here.

Best,
    Your name

ReputationRep: