Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

International Tourism Marketing or Air Transport Management? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, I need some advice please. I'm currently a BA Tourism & Event Management student in Germany looking for a postgraduate course to start next year!
    My two elective majors at uni here in Germany are Aviation and Marketing, which is why I'm considering both MSc International Tourism Marketing and MSc Air Transport Management at the University of Surrey. I don't know which course to choose, though! I think if I chose Air Transport Management it would give me a better chance of working for an airline, which is where I want to work, ideally in aviation/airline marketing. So I believe this course might be more suitable for my dream career. However it's quite difficult to get a good position with a big airline like Lufthansa or British Airways. I have a friend who has a Bachelor's degree in aviation, but just couldn't get a job! Of course chances are higher with a postgraduate degree, but it'll probably still be difficult. So the problem with this course is that it will be pretty much useless for anything else besides aviation. Tourism Marketing on the other hand will give me a much broader option of workplaces after I graduate and I will still be able to try and apply to work in aviation/airline marketing, however I assume my chances will be lower than with the Air Transport degree. A third option would be Cross-Cultural Communication and International Marketing at Newcastle University as an alternative to Tourism Marketing. I've never been to Surrey or Newcastle, but to me it seemed like Newcastle is a nice place to live as it's bigger and close to the beach. It seems like a cool place to live, but I've read that Surrey is a top school for tourism, so I'm thinking I should try and apply there first