Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am currently a lower sixth student, undertaking the IB at school. I am having some issues, not many, in standard level maths, and wanted to know if dropping to maths studies would impair my chances of achieving a uni place for medicine.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Daniel Sarkar)
    Hi,
    I am currently a lower sixth student, undertaking the IB at school. I am having some issues, not many, in standard level maths, and wanted to know if dropping to maths studies would impair my chances of achieving a uni place for medicine.
    I'm pretty sure that you need at least maths standard to do medicine at university. When I did IB, my friends who wanted to go into medicine took either maths standard or higher. I wouldn't recommend risking your chances with maths studies.

ReputationRep:
    what other subjects are you doing? maths is very highly recommended but not essential if you have an alternative almost as good. Generally university requirements listings arent a trick so if they say somethings crucial you have to have it (unless you do a foundation year or have extenuating circumstances perhaps) but if they say something is recommended, you may surely be able to get a place if you make up for it in other areas. a problem may rather be that youre dropping out of anything at all. are you doing 5 subjects? or whatever number if the normal amount for IB?
    but on a more positive note my friend took bio, chem, physics, and spanish (dropped spanish after AS) and she got a place and is currently studying medicine in brighton!

also i just reread what you said and im a little confused. sorry if my response doesnt make sense. I dont know much about IBs.