Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

british monarchy: the crisis of state 1642 - 1689 watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I am completely new to this I thought i would give it a try as nothing else is working for me. I am really struggling to understand my topic (british monarchy: the crisis of state 1642-1689) from about 1645 - 1653. I could do with a simple explanation for what goes on in these 8 years as my teacher is far too complicated and i can't keep up and i'm starting to get really really really stressed out as nothing i am doing seems to be going in. PLEASE HELP

ReputationRep:
    Well, 1645 is the year when the King begins to lose the Civil War, and Parliament begins to win. It's also the point at which the Independents begin to rise as a faction within Parliament - radicals advocating free tolerance of different religious denominations and less deferential to either Parliament or the King.

In 1646 the Cavaliers lose the First Civil War, and attempts are made by Parliament to negotiate a peaceful settlement that restores the King to power in a constitutional state. In 1647-8 the King outraged many by escaping and waging a new war (the Second Civil War) which he promptly loses.

Having lost much goodwill Parliament's attitude hardens and there are views that Parliament should impose a settlement on the King - perhaps even depose or exile him (although some speculate this was to try to spook the King into a settlement). But the Parliamentary side becomes increasingly divided, from the old, conservative Presbyterians who hate religious toleration versus the radical Independents.