Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Not sure where to post, recent grad desperate for help watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So I graduated a few months ago with a 2:1 in History from a Russell group uni but haven't been able to find anything in the way of work.
    To be honest I'm not sure about what I want to go into, but I've applied for so much now. PR, sales, marketing, operations, consulting, even looked into law. Although my degree and extra curricular stuff is good, my work experience isn't, so I've been applying to internships but haven't been able to secure anything at all.

It's starting to effect me mentally now which is slightly worrying. I'm just looking for some practical advice from anyone who has been through similar situations and come through the over side!

Thanks very much in advance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by andre2012)
    So I graduated a few months ago with a 2:1 in History from a Russell group uni but haven't been able to find anything in the way of work.
    To be honest I'm not sure about what I want to go into, but I've applied for so much now. PR, sales, marketing, operations, consulting, even looked into law. Although my degree and extra curricular stuff is good, my work experience isn't, so I've been applying to internships but haven't been able to secure anything at all.

It's starting to effect me mentally now which is slightly worrying. I'm just looking for some practical advice from anyone who has been through similar situations and come through the over side!

How far in the application process are you getting?

ReputationRep:
    Sorry should have mentioned that! So far I've had one interview for an internship but didn't get offered the role.

ReputationRep:
    It sounds like your scattergun approach is holding you back. Spend time working out what you want to do and focus on how you can demonstrate your motivation for that specific area.