Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello I'm a UK student in year 12,
    My dream is to join Oxbridge,
    -do you know If I have better chance to be selected with 4 A2 or it doesn't make a difference with 3 ?
    -do you know if GCSEs are very important ? Because I'm french so last year I tried the best I could but I only got 1 A* in french ( obviously ) 2 A and 4 B so I don't know if it's too late
    or note for me 😕
    Thank you for you answer

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cola99)
    Hello I'm a UK student in year 12,
    My dream is to join Oxbridge,
    -do you know If I have better chance to be selected with 4 A2 or it doesn't make a difference with 3 ?
    -do you know if GCSEs are very important ? Because I'm french so last year I tried the best I could but I only got 1 A* in french ( obviously ) 2 A and 4 B so I don't know if it's too late
    or note for me 😕
    Thank you for you answer
    It's better to have brilliant 3 A-levels than not so brilliant 4 A-levels.
    GCSE isn't so important for cambridge, except for medicine. But for other courses, too, if your GCSE grades weren't so great, you'll need to show good improvement at a-levels. (Esp if you only did 7 GCSEs)

(Is it because you came to U.K. just before GCSE and not very good at English the reason your grades weren't too good? If that's so, your school can submit an extenuating circumstance form to Cambridge and they will take it into account when assessing)

Which course you're interested in applying to?
    You should choose a college because you like their course, not because of their name.
    You choose a subject you want to study first, look at relevant courses in many universities, then choose which ones to apply to. Not the other way around.