Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Choosing the best masters program for my situation watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi, and many thanks for anyone who takes the time to answer.

I'm looking to apply for a masters in the area of accounting/finance or management, with the aim of transitioning into management consulting. I have a 4 year honours degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Auckland with a B average, and 2 years of experience in a London design consultancy.

I want to apply for University's with a brand that will ensure an adequate return on my (substantial!) investment, however I know I need to be realistic about my past grades.

Could anyone please recommend:
    - A London based service that can offer me professional advice for choosing appropriate courses and preparing applications.
    - Universities/courses that I may have a shot at, including both the lower and upper echelons of universities I should be applying to.
    (I do apologize for the lack of specifics in this post but general advice would still be absolutely invaluable to me!)

Thanks again,
    Rob

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rob2244)
    I want to apply for University's with a brand

Firstly, UK Universities are not brands. You don't buy one like its a tub of ice-cream or a designer suit. You carefully research your options and choose a course appropriate to your needs, interests and budget.

Secondly, the word is 'Universities'. It is not a possessive noun and does not require an apostrophe.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by returnmigrant)
    Firstly, UK Universities are not brands. You don't buy one like its a tub of ice-cream or a designer suit. You carefully research your options and choose a course appropriate to your needs, interests and budget.

Secondly, the word is 'Universities'. It is not a possessive noun and does not require an apostrophe.