Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I need a 2.1 degree if I want to pursue my dream watch

ReputationRep:
    I am a mature undergraduate student (aged 27) back at university after deciding a career change and wanting to go into clinical psychology.

Despite previously having done a lot of studying I have been finding the degree extremely difficult. I need at least a 2.1 when graduating to make the £30,000 of debt worth it, and to go onto do what I want, post grad study.

The first year I managed to obtain a 2.2. but I wasn't giving it my 100%. I am now in my second year and I am giving it all that I have but I am now finding I am becoming ill with all the pressure.

I have had severe insomnia the last week due to not being able to sleep because of worry. I am mostly worrying about essay exams as I am just not finding the time to study the actual lectures during the day. It takes me at least 3x as long to go over each lecture myself and understand it, but at the same time I have lab reports, essays and presentations to do and prepare.

I am terrified of not getting the grades I need. If I can’t get it when I graduate, I fear slipping into a severe depression as I would have spent £30,000 and a major life decision to go back to university.

I am finding I am working almost the entire day. I do not understand how students can get by studying just an hour or two, why does it take me so long? What is different about me?

I am going to see the doctor regarding the insomnia tomorrow (hopefully). But any more advice would be greatly appreciate. The doctor will only offer mindfulness or SSRI’s for the stress/worry which are pointless for me. I have done a 12 week mindfulness course in the past and found no benefic whatsoever. I have also been on SSRI’s many times, and the side effects counter the positive side of the drug for me.