Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How do people do it? watch

Announcements

I just don't understand how people meet people?
    I'm 19 years old (almost 20) and to be absolutely honest I'm just feeling a little bit lonely.
    I chose not to go to university so I haven't been forced to meet new friends like other people my age have by going to uni.
    I work part time as a teaching assistant and so don't meet any potential friends/boyfriends through work as there's no one else anywhere near my age working there.
    The friends that I do have are all away at uni and with new friends so don't bother with me anymore.
    I'm worried that because, apart from every 10 weeks when my old friends come home, I only talk to my family or work colleges I'm becoming more and more socially anxious around new people and I feel I'll never be able to make any more friends, let alone find a boyfriend.
    I just want some advice or comfort in knowing I'm not the only one who finds it completely puzzling how people meet new friends!
    Thanks!

Hi, I feel your pain. I'm a 2nd year (repeating) commuting from London to Kent everyday and it is hard to make a few friends here and there because I only go to classes and use my spare time to do assignment and so on. I used to repeat the title of this thread to myself almost everyday (how do people do it) and the answer is "we're different" haha I say this because I know people who are in both of our positions and they still meet new people, still have fun and go places and they're really OUTGOING !, if we really wanted to make friends and find some people and potential partners lol we'd do it ! (hope that helps)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I just don't understand how people meet people?
    I'm 19 years old (almost 20) and to be absolutely honest I'm just feeling a little bit lonely.