Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Personal Statement For Nursing with no work experience Help watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I need some help with my personal statement for Nursing, I have no relevant work experience, I am currently studying Access to Health diploma, my tutor has told me I have very little chance of getting into University with no relevant work experience. i would like to prove him wrong by writing a good Personal Statement, but would really like some pointers or tips on how to do this without the work experience. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Midget44)
    I need some help with my personal statement for Nursing, I have no relevant work experience, I am currently studying Access to Health diploma, my tutor has told me I have very little chance of getting into University with no relevant work experience. i would like to prove him wrong by writing a good Personal Statement, but would really like some pointers or tips on how to do this without the work experience. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks
    To be honest, I've never heard of anyone being successful getting onto an NHS funded course without relevant experience. It's not like getting admitted onto an academic degree course where work experience isn't really relevant and it's more about academic capabilities.

NHS funded courses are vocational - they need to see evidence that you've researched that particular vocation and that you've experienced it. You're going to be competing with applicants who have done work placements, volunteering and people who currently work in the NHS (e.g health care assistants).