Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Hey Everyone

im just wondering if you could help/advise me on what Masters degree i should do? I am currently applying for 2, which are MA Political Communication at Cardiff University and MA Journalism at UWE Bristol (where i did my undergrad). I mee the entry requirements for both.

the coure at UWE is BJTC accredited, therefore would be good for the workplace, and is also cheaper (after the 15% discount i get as I was an undergrad there). I would love to be a journalist and go into broadcast journalism 9I did student radio for 3 years). However the course at Cardiff sounds so interesting and it is something I would also pursue to phd level.

I was thinking as the governments new postgrad loan system would cover my fees for the one at UWE, and not cardiff as its England only could do that one first and then do the one at Cardiff, as although I need some advice I will probably do both. Apologies if Im rambling - just need some advice.

ReputationRep:
    (IF the g'ment loans scheme actually runs..... when..... for whom... which courses .... etc. Until that is announced IN DETAIL its very risky to assume any of it will apply to you.)

Both courses have strengths. The BJTC accreditation is valuable but nothing like that is ever going to guarantee you a job. Political Communications is a growing field, Cardiff is a solid Uni. Only you can decide whether the pull of UWE is bigger than wanting to go/do something else.

ReputationRep:
    I think where you did your undergraduate can be a good guiding factor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by martniz)
    I think where you did your undergraduate can be a good guiding factor
    Actually that's a terrible guiding factor. What makes you think it has any relevance?