Turn on thread page Beta

Is having poor social life an university a disadvantage during the job hunt? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I am a former student and I did not make any close friends at university because of my Asperger's Syndrome that makes it hard for me to associate with people. In my second and final year i did not go out much because of focusing too hard on my studies and having only a few friends. I spent most of my time alone studying in the library and lived in the halls during the whole of my degree as I couldn't get close enough to any flatmates to get considered for living in a house.

I am worried that recruiters might ask about my social life during university at job interviews and if i tell the truth they will not consider me because many employers are looking for people who have good social skills and can make friends easily. Virtually every job advert says 'excellent communication skills' are necessary. I already had a couple of interviews but nobody ever asked about my social life. On the other hand I once had to fill in a personality test for a job application that grilled me about my interpersonal skills to the point of asking whether I have any friends of the opposite sex. Does anyone else think that employers are keen to know the status of a candidate's social life would consider it a red flag that I couldn't make any proper friends at uni?

ReputationRep:
    I dont have any friends. None of my interviews asked about social life. They might ask about interests outside work.

ReputationRep:
    they aren't going to ask about your friendships don't worry, they will look for evidence of good communication, this is ideally in a work situation e.g. dealing with difficult customers, presentations

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by formerstudent92)
    Hi