The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Questions about the OU...

I'm thinking about doing a degree with the Open Uni, mainly to improve my job prospects. I'm 27 years old now and still working in a dead end job that I can't see a way out of.

The problem is, I can't afford to leave my job to go to a traditional Uni (and I don't know if I would get in anyway). I gave up on my education at 16 and went straight into work and I've been beating myself up about it for the past 5 years.

So my question is this; has anyone else completed their degree with the OU and went on to find better jobs or even a career?

I'd appreciate any advice....
Original post by ffc27
I'm thinking about doing a degree with the Open Uni, mainly to improve my job prospects. I'm 27 years old now and still working in a dead end job that I can't see a way out of.

The problem is, I can't afford to leave my job to go to a traditional Uni (and I don't know if I would get in anyway). I gave up on my education at 16 and went straight into work and I've been beating myself up about it for the past 5 years.

So my question is this; has anyone else completed their degree with the OU and went on to find better jobs or even a career?

Of course they have. Many, many, many.

What specific advice are you looking for and in what subject?
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Reply 2
Original post by ffc27

The OU has careers advisers, so there are people to talk to if you're unsure what you want to do. There are many jobs that require a degree but not necessarily a particular subject, so if you're unsure what you want to do that doesn't have to be a problem.
Reply 3
Original post by SuperCat007
Of course they have. Many, many, many.

What specific advice are you looking for and in what subject?

I am considering doing a degree in Business Management.