lamchristie418
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I am currently a Y10 student from Hong Kong and I am planning to take the IGCSE exam. However, my school doesn't follow the British curriculum, which means I have nobody to rely on. I am probably gonna take Chinese, English, Maths, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, History, Geography and Literature. (9 subjects)
1) How can I prepare myself for the exams?
2) Which examination board should I choose? (CIE/Edexcel)
Thank you very much
arthurchristie
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I am currently studying Physics IGCSE though Edexcel, and thoroughly enjoying it! I also study at home, with no one else to rely on, and I'm planning to sit my exams in this subject next May/June!

Answering your questions, I have the ~250 page Edexcel Physics IGCSE Student Book which I am slowly working through. I also use resources on The Student Room and there are some great websites and other books available if need be (BBC Bitesize and Skoool to name a couple).

As I said, I am sitting my exams through Edexcel and really enjoying working through the syllabus. I have also heard great things about CIE IGCSE sciences too, a friend of mine sat CIE Biology last year and said it one easily the best arranged syllabus of all her subjects. The two offer extremely similar specifications and difficulty, so it is truly up to you. We chose Edexcel as I sat GCSEs through them last year so we are familiar with the website etc.

Hope my reply helped even a little, best of wishes to you in your exams!
Arthur
National Extension College
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by lamchristie418)
I am currently a Y10 student from Hong Kong and I am planning to take the IGCSE exam. However, my school doesn't follow the British curriculum, which means I have nobody to rely on. I am probably gonna take Chinese, English, Maths, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, History, Geography and Literature. (9 subjects)