The Student Room Group

What are graduates doing whilst applying for medicine?

Hi guys, I graduated and applied for medicine but I messed up my UKCAT sadly so I don't have any confidence in any offers this application cycle. I was just wondering what are graduates doing in the mean time? I'm working part time at my dads at weekend and volunteer a few hours and was planning to apply for a job. Was wondering what graduates or school leavers have been doing whilst out of school/uni and applying for medicine? And I'm not sure if it is bad to be applying to medicine and if for example your full time/graduate job might be looked down upon when you could have gotten (well tried) for a job in a healthcare setting?

Thanks and I really appreciate for any replies!
I would suggest keep applying for work experience as it'd always good to have - though not a definite if you have sufficient amount. My advice would be to get a job and work your ass off - as a graduate you won't be entitled to a tuition fee loan and take it from me you will be grateful to return to uni with some cash in the bank.

Posted from TSR Mobile
I worked as a HCA both before and during my first degree, then went straight into Medicine the same year I graduated. I'd definitely go for something in a health care setting (like HCA work) - it taught me a lot, and seemed to go down very well with interviewers.
I second what the others have said with HCA work. Although, I'll add a couple of others which you can apply for an look great (but some are a bit harder to get as they are only advertised infrequently):

HealthCare assistant
Clinical Support Worker (mental health)
Phlebotomist (vampires :biggrin: I cannot recommend this enough. So much fun!)
Therapy assistant (both physio and occupational are available)
Emergency care assistant (go out in ambulances)