What books should I read if I want to do Aeronautical engineering at university?

Watch
Superhornet
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am a year 12 student, I am very interested in Aeroplanes, and it's been my dream to design aeroplanes. For extracurricular activity, I would like to do something which is related to aeronautical engineering, best is to read engineering books, and do a lot of maths. I don't know if engineering/mathematical books are more beneficial or Aeroplane related books such as "the science of flight" is more beneficial.
If so, what sort of books do you recommend that is my level to understand?
BTW I am doing IB higher Maths and physics at school.
Thanks
University of Glasgow
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Superhornet)
If so, what sort of books do you recommend that is my level to understand?
Thanks
Hey!

I'm currently in my 4th year of Aeronautical Engineering at the University of Glasgow, so I can try and give some insight into this.

Most universities will typically be very maths intensive for the first year or two, so a solid understanding of maths is a must. Effectively, they want to teach you most of the mathematical techniques you'll need to be an engineer as soon as possible. As for books, getting a hold of a good Engineering Mathematics book will stand you in good stead as you'll definitely be coming across plenty of it.

For something Aero-related, there are an unbelievable amount of books out there. Aeronautical Engineering covers many different fields: Structural Analysis, Aerodynamics, Aircraft Systems, Performance, Aircraft Handling and Control, Propulsion, Thermodynamics, Fluid Mechanics and CFD, Navigation Systems, programming in MATLAB/C++/other, and the list goes on and on.