Asking about careers in Medicine and is Physics necessary?

Watch
Vish24xy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hello, I'm currently a year 11 student almost done with my GCSEs and about to choose my A levels. I have been interested in doing a career in Medicine and came to ask about the need for Physics. I don't take GCSE Physics, I do take GCSE Biology and Chemistry though and am considering taking Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Further Maths at A level. Will these A level options keep most Medical courses at university open for me? Do most of them require any Physics background? Thanks.
Frappé
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Everything you said is completely fine:yy:

Posted from TSR Mobile
llys
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Frappé)

Posted from TSR Mobile
Really, you don't need any Physics at GCSE level?
Vish24xy
Rep:
?
(Original post by Frappé)

Posted from TSR Mobile
Thanks for your help. I'm surprised that you wouldn't need GCSE Physics though.
suirrel
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
You need Core+Additional Science at GCSE for many medicine courses if you didn't take them as separate sciences. Did you do any physics at all for GCSE? Even P1?
Argentinababy
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
No, you don't Physics GCSE.
llys
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Argentinababy)
No, you don't Physics GCSE.
I'd expect they'd want at least Double Science, which includes some Physics. I honestly don't know how they would react to two sciences only at GCSE, though perhaps some medical schools would be fine with it.

I think it would be safest to actually email some medical schools about this, OP.
Vish24xy
Rep:
?
(Original post by suirrel)
You need Core+Additional Science at GCSE for many medicine courses if you didn't take them as separate sciences. Did you do any physics at all for GCSE? Even P1?
No I didn't take any Physics at GCSE at all. In hindsight I should have though its too late to change that now.