cjlol
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi there,

I'm studying a degree in Geology and really enjoy it. I'm always a massive worrier and part of me is worrying that geology has become a sector that's hard to become employed in now, especially inside the UK?

I've found it hard to find sufficient evidence for or against this and was wondering if anyone has any first hand experience or anywhere I can find evidence on how well geologists acquire jobs in their field?
DylanJ42
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by cjlol)
Hi there,

I'm studying a degree in Geology and really enjoy it. I'm always a massive worrier and part of me is worrying that geology has become a sector that's hard to become employed in now, especially inside the UK?

I've found it hard to find sufficient evidence for or against this and was wondering if anyone has any first hand experience or anywhere I can find evidence on how well geologists acquire jobs in their field?
I don't know much about Geology, but I found this for you. Read this and hopefully it'll make you feel better about your degree. From reading this it certainly seems useful to me with lots of job opportunities. Work hard and you'll get plenty of options with regards to jobs

https://uk.answers.yahoo.com/questio...0120727AAckXnt
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by cjlol)
Hi there,

I can't speak specificially for the geology sector, but I can say that work experience whilst at uni is crucial.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by cjlol)
Your course should have statistics/data on where its graduates have gone on to be employed. Ask to see their DLHE data. other unis will have the same for their geology courses so you should be able to pick up patterns of who is working in the sector, leaving the sector, who they key employers are etc
KTS89
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by cjlol)
Hi there,