aceface9
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Ever since i was young i wanted to be a pilot. First i wanted to be a regular airline pilot but after some research i learned there were more exciting stuff for an adrenaline junkie like myself.
Joining the RAF as a pilot seemed perfect and that's what i plan to do. However, there are some slight problems...

Problem 1) Qualifications.
On the website it says you need 2 A levels. I'm currently studying BTEC level 3 law, Btec level 3 IT, and as level english language and i'm going to do another a level next year. If i just pass one a level will i still be able to apply?

Problem 2) Fitness
Okay i'm quite fit and healthy, i have anaemia but it's not a disqualifying factor. However you need to be really fit like you need to run 1.5k in like 10 minutes and do sit-ups/pushups under 2 minutes or something. I believe after training and motivation i will be able to do it so that's not my main worry. My BMI is slightly under 18 but i'm not too fussed about that either.

Problem 3) Acceptance
I'm a 17 year old asian girl and in the past i have experienced racial abuse and at work people assume i can't cope with certain tasks because i'm a girl. I don't want to be bullied or anything.
Also, there is a lot of competition in the RAF and i'm afraid i won't stand out or be as good as the rest.

I really want this job i always watch documentaries on it and it's my dream career.
jannisjr
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
BTEC Level 3's are equivalent to A levels I believe so no dramas there. Give the careers hotline a ring, and they should be able to tell you over the phone. Takes less than 3 mins to confirm this.