Application unsuccessful because of "Increased competition" ??? Watch

JGBishop24
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm currently in first year uni and is applying for a course (Economics) that is totally not related to what I learn now (Design). I meet Queen Mary's requirement for the course, but considering that I already got my A-level grades and they only JUST meet the grade requirements, I wonder if Queen Mary wants applicants with higher grades and not me?

I didn't apply to UK unis during Year 13, so I don't know a lot about UCAS. Has anyone heard someone who got this reason for their unsuccessful application?

I'm also writing an email to the admissions to ask about this. Just wondering if unis can change their decisions once their made? I'll probably phone them too if the email response is not satisfying.

Here is my letter on UCAS:

Queen Mary University of London may have decided not to offer you a place, or your application may have been withdrawn. Here are the details we have been given:

Increased competition - We take all aspects of your application into careful consideration; we look at the merits of your personal statement, academic reference, predicted and actual grades. Due to competition for places, we do not make offers purely on the basis of meeting the grade requirements.
Juno
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Increased competition means that they had loads of applications, and since you only just met the grades you weren't good enough. Since they've already given you this reason for being unsuccessful you're unlikely to find out more details - they can't say exactly what you'd need to do to get an offer next year in case they get even more applicants and the standard goes up again.
JGBishop24
Rep:
?
(Original post by Juno)