Feeling depressed on year abroad Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 49 years ago
Hi I'm a twenty year old and I've started my year abroad in September. I've had trouble sleeping since the beginning so it's obviously been really hard for me to settle in. I thought it'd get better, but it didn't. I'd never just go home because I'm a tiny bit homesick but I struggle a lot here, whilst when I'm home I'm fine. I definitely want to just go home early, but as I'm a language student, this year count towards my degree. I know people at my uni have left/not done the year abroad because of mental health issues but I have a rather unhelpful tutor and she basically told me to stick it out even though I told her I was really unhappy. Will they have to let me go if I get a doctor's note? I don't want to give up my degree as I enjoy learning, I just don't want to be here anymore.
Nathanielle
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi I'm a twenty year old and I've started my year abroad in September. I've had trouble sleeping since the beginning so it's obviously been really hard for me to settle in. I thought it'd get better, but it didn't. I'd never just go home because I'm a tiny bit homesick but I struggle a lot here, whilst when I'm home I'm fine. I definitely want to just go home early, but as I'm a language student, this year count towards my degree. I know people at my uni have left/not done the year abroad because of mental health issues but I have a rather unhelpful tutor and she basically told me to stick it out even though I told her I was really unhappy. Will they have to let me go if I get a doctor's note? I don't want to give up my degree as I enjoy learning, I just don't want to be here anymore.