Na09
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi,

I am a bit anxious about my reference. I am in the middle of applying for a PhD position. So, I applied a PhD from my previous university where I did my master and I am accepted. I used my supervisor from my master studies as my reference and another from my undergrad studies. My supervisor from my master will be my 2nd supervisor for this future PhD. However, I have not accepted the offer as I am waiting for another university.
Is it appropriate for me to use my supervisor from my master degree as a referee for applying to this other university? I am worried if he/she will be reluctant. However, she did agree to be my reference before I started all my applications.
Could someone give me some advice?
CCC75
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
There should be no issue with this. Your supervisor has agreed to references for whatever employment/study you make application to. As long as it is relevant to their role as your supervisor, it is within their professional capacity to provide the reference (within reason of course). It is normal for students to complete several applications for study at different institutions.
Na09
(Original post by CCC75)
There should be no issue with this. Your supervisor has agreed to references for whatever employment/study you make application to. As long as it is relevant to their role as your supervisor, it is within their professional capacity to provide the reference (within reason of course). It is normal for students to complete several applications for study at different institutions.

Thank you very much. I'm just a bit a worried about this. I guess that it is fine then.
Thank you again
username2228735
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Absolutely. You should definitely be OK using your referee for other applications too. If asked, you could go with something like:

"I just want to see my options before I make a decision."
Na09
(Original post by Aceadria)