Blackfriars - Glasgow, Good accomodation? Watch

Anne1tje
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hey, I am an exchange student and in January I will come to Glasgow to study at Strathclyde University. I am now searching for rooms and got an offer at Blackfriars and at Kelvin-Grove house. Does anyone of you have an opinion on which room I should take? I read a lot of bad reviews on Blackfriars but it is so close to uni so that would be really nice.Thanks!
Fairne
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Same boat. I'll come to Glasgow next week and I still don't know what to do: got offers...but I wonder if bad reviews on Unite Students can influence me. I would love to spend a peaceful semester here :/
geolowiser
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
A quick heads up on Unite:

The cast majority of bad reviews come from people who can't pay their rent, so naturally are very frustrated when Unite says find a replacement or pay up, it's mostly kids whining because they signed a contract they couldn't commit to even when unforeseen circumstances come up.

As for the remainer of the issues RE bad support staff etc it seems to be centred around specific properties. Getting in touch with Unite is difficult, and I've heard that maintenance takes a long to time respond to things regardless of whether it's an emergency or not, but remember that it's the same across the board, and that there is no forum for individual landlords and the uni owned halls are older and just as bad.

I have no particular love for Unite, but don't be swayed by the opinions of the people who post about it. Almost all Unite issues posted on TSR are because they want to leave in December or in June and can't find a replacement tennant, so the end result is them having to honour the commitment they made at the start. Same goes for any contract.
geolowiser
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by geolowiser)