The Student Room Group

Is 18 too late to take up a sport and go pro?

I've been wondering. Ive been doing sports my entire life but I was never commited to one' I am one of those people with a natural talent for sports and every single sport I do comes very easy for me. I had a break for a year because of a knee ligament damage but recently I started training harder and got a time of 4:21 in a mile run with a month of training before. So do you guys think its too late:
Reply 1
Original post by CraigBe7
I've been wondering. Ive been doing sports my entire life but I was never commited to one' I am one of those people with a natural talent for sports and every single sport I do comes very easy for me. I had a break for a year because of a knee ligament damage but recently I started training harder and got a time of 4:21 in a mile run with a month of training before. So do you guys think its too late:

No. You'd be surprised at how many professionals start early.

I don't want to be a downer but realistically, with a ligament injury you probably wont be able to get into pro sports. Injuries always seem to close a pros career...:frown: But then again I would just go for it if the injury will not be a hindrance.
Reply 3

I'm gonna say what my brain juices tell me.

It's never too late
but ofc it depends on the sport. And how they treat the old ones.
It also depends on how they scout for the talented juans.
Reply 4
The injury was probably caused by my accelerated growth at that time, only injury I got since then was a hamstring tear coz Im stupid enough do do half a marathon and a sunday league match on the same day 😅
Original post by Duck10101
I don't want to be a downer but realistically, with a ligament injury you probably wont be able to get into pro sports. Injuries always seem to close a pros career...:frown: But then again I would just go for it if the injury will not be a hindrance.
Reply 5