The Student Room Group

My flatmate lets her mum use our flat as a second home

I'm a final year student living with a friend I've know for quite a few years and get on well with. However, recently my friend was having a bit of a rough time with her coursework and the mounting pressure took its toll. Since she's close with her mum she's had her round a few times for comfort which is totally understandable. However, now that she's picked herself back up again things haven't quite gotten back to normal. Her mum is over literally 3 or 4 times a week crashing on our couch. I understand that she's close to her mum (don't have the same relationship with mine) but I feel like the situation is bordering on the ridiculous. First of all, she makes her mum sleep on our incredibly tiny and uncomfortable couch which I wouldn't be too bothered about if it wasn't for the fact that I need to walk through the living room to get to the kitchen on the mornings I have class and work. Then she leaves her mum alone in the flat while she goes out with friends or over to her boyfriend's flat or all day library sessions. I just feel like I don't have any personal space in my own flat anymore and it's partly my fault because I think I gave her the impression that it was totally okay for her to essentially move her mum in. At the time I knew she was feeling fragile and she needed someone close to lean on but the situation is starting to stress me out. Our bills are climbing and my boyfriend has started to chip in moneywise for whenever he stays over. The whole reason I decided to get a flat this year was so I could escape familial situations. But now it's like I'm living with my parents again.I need help getting rid of the third flatmate I never asked for please!
Casually drop hints like, 'Oh, is your mother coming over again? I'm finding it hard to not wake her in the morning.' Or, you could be a dick and split the rent with mum. :colone:
Tell her how you feel!