For students: What is uni life like in bath? Watch

Sheek1234
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
For students that go to bath, how was it like on the first week, was it easier to mix in or was it 'cliquey'? Are there lots of extracurricular student activities to do?
Kevin De Bruyne
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Sheek1234)
For students that go to bath, how was it like on the first week, was it easier to mix in or was it 'cliquey'? Are there lots of extracurricular student activities to do?
Hey I'm a second year student at Bath.

The first week of the first year was quite daunting. I remember that on my first night, some of us in our flat played cards and got to know eachother a bit and it wasn't too bad.

Then Freshers' week was just packed with stuff to do. You get a team of second years that give you tours during the day and then parties at night. They also manage your closest neighbouring flats so you get to meet a group of people pretty quickly. I also remember that people went around writing notes on doors of blocks, inviting them to a party at a particular block, as well as invitations on facebook. And after a while, everyone seems to have mixed in pretty well. People were going off to all of the different accommodations that were hosting pre drinks. And through the nightlife it's always possible to meet new people.

On my course (Maths) however, groups formed very quickly and within a few weeks people were either sitting on their own or in groups of 2-3 or 4-5. But I think that's largely to do with what Maths students are like and not the uni.

There are loads of ways to get involved. There are over 80 societies (or so I'm told) and there's something for everyone. Be it acting, writing, baking, singing, you name it.

If there's anything else, feel free to ask. I'll add this question to the FAQs here.
Student403
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by SeanFM)
Hey I'm a second year student at Bath.