username2130115
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm a sixth-form student studying further maths. i'm interested in reading some enrichment statistics to introduce me to some more advanced concepts. i'm interested in learning about statistics relevant to the finance industry and quantitative development.
other people on the internet have mentioned the following topics are of relevance: probability, probability distributions, returns, regression, asset pricing, derivatives, stochastic processes, black-scholes, algorithmic trading, stochastic calculus
what accessible textbook would you recommend to a sixth form student? what mathematical methods do i need to know to study these advanced topics successfully?
Gregorius
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
As general advice to a sixth former interested in statistics I would recommend two major themes:

First, learn about maximum likelihood estimation. This is a technique that is all-pervasive within modern statistics. Whenever you try to estimate the coefficients in a statistics model, whether it is as simple as a linear regression, or as complex as a multi-level random effects model, underlying the estimation is the method of maximum likelihood. I suggest Google/Wikipedia to get you started and the first few chapters of a book like Pawitan’s “In all Likelihood” to finish you off.

Second, learn how to use the statistical computing language “R”. One of the biggest differences between “school” statistics and statistics as it is actually used is the use of computationally intensive methods based on large scale simulation. Dalgaard’s “Introductory Statistics with R” is as good a place as any to start; though note that the “R” home page (at https://cran.r-project.org/) has plenty of user-contributed free manuals/introductions.