The Student Room Group

Is C4 a lot harder than C3?

Obviously with practice, you'll start to find them easier but is C4 a lot harder to get the hang of?

I thought C3 was impossible but I find it really nice now.

Scroll to see replies

the real hurdle is C3... once you have done that it is plain sailing to C4 :h:
Original post by Dinaa
Obviously with practice, you'll start to find them easier but is C4 a lot harder to get the hang of?

definitely a step up, but, just like C3, you can get to grips with it if you put in the work

good luck :h:
For Edexcel, I found C3 to be easier than C2 (slightly biased as I am now a Maths student at uni) and C4 was.. significantly more difficult than C3, but nowhere near impossible to do. It's just the integration and vectors that requires a lot of practice, then you should be golden.
Reply 4
Original post by the bear
the real hurdle is C3... once you have done that it is plain sailing to C4 :h:

How you finding c3 now that it's complete?
Original post by SeanFM
It's just the integration and vectors that requires a lot of practice, then you should be golden.

I was on MEI and got 100 on C4 but vectors still give me nightmares to this day (and i did physics AS lol) :afraid:
I'm finding it the same difficulty as C3 tbh
Original post by raman_17
How you finding c3 now that it's complete?

it's good to know about functions :yep:
Reply 8
Original post by Dinaa

definitely in my opinion in all boards

(by the way I liked the new selfie avatar/this one for some reason disturbs me)
Personally I found C4 pretty straightforward once I clicked with C3 (I think the real leap in difficulty is C2\rightarrowC3 rather than C3\rightarrowC4) but I know people who have really struggled with the calculus in C4.
Original post by Dinaa

You'll find:

Partial Fractions
Binomial Expansion
Integration

Quite easy. Been getting >95% in past papers for C4 consistently.
it's good to know about functions :yep: