The Student Room Group

Paramedic Practice/Science

Hi there !

I am a mature (ish ) student and next September I will be applying to study to be a paramedic.
I was supposed to start an access course this year but I sadly couldn't. I have been researching and trying to boost my application for about two years now. I have to say I'm really looking forward to it as my background is completely different!

There is a few teething problems : I am really confused by the course guides? I feel there isn't actually that much information compared to nursing- I live near two unis which are really good for nursing.
I was really disheartened when I went last year to my local college for my access course application because they didn't have much information and focused primarily on nursing so a lot of the time has been down to spending time on ucas and researching.
I left at one point with a college tutor compare paramedic to being ' a nurse with a car' !

I am aware there are a two year and a three year course, but when I asked tutors, they admitted they were not really sure what the difference was and the mode of people seemed to go to a kind of local which I'm not sure how I feel about the placement ..
I've seen that one course obviously gives you a full degree and doesn't seem to focus as much on driving /practical assessments but one seems to be focusing more on theory side of it.
I suppose what the point is, If I was sat down in an interview for an ambulance trust I wanted to work for and I was up against others,
would the person sat next to me be guaranteed a job because they'd done the full degree despite if I'd worked just as hard and focused more time on practicals and a bit more driving experience?'ve had a good look at choices, there has been a few new choices added I've noticed over time but I wonder Is it literally a case of choose a course and work hard?

Would be really grateful If anyone could provide any links/information/experience