PGCE Math Bursary - would I need to pay it back

Watch this thread
Hayleybobs
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I currently work in a school and am hoping to get a place on the Flexible PGCE Maths in September 2016. At present there is a bursary which would be a great help. However looking to the future there is more likely to be openings in my present workplace in other subjects. Does anybody know if I am offered a different subject to teach will I need to pay the bursary back?
pillinois
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
You wouldn't need to pay back the bursary if you were to teach another subject; it is worth pointing out though that you might struggle to be employed to teach another subject outside of maths (it would be a question of convincing an interview panel that you would be just as capable as those who hold QTS and who have taught that subject as part of their QTS/PGCE year). It would also depend on your academic background.
Hayleybobs
Rep:
(Original post by pillinois)
You wouldn't need to pay back the bursary if you were to teach another subject; it is worth pointing out though that you might struggle to be employed to teach another subject outside of maths (it would be a question of convincing an interview panel that you would be just as capable as those who hold QTS and who have taught that subject as part of their QTS/PGCE year). It would also depend on your academic background.
Thanks for the reply. I currently work in a school and have taught various other subjects as a HLTA. Its the headteacher that's mentioned it that if something does come up would it need to be maths for me to be able to apply. It just got me thinking.
S27
Badges: 18
Rep:
Report 6 years ago