Chemistry OCR A advice!

Watch this thread
Dar-Diddly-Arn
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi there, I'm an ex-Chemistry A-Level student who went from a C at GCSE to an A at A-Level in Chemistry. I worked really hard through the A-Level, but I didn't work smart - that's the key difference. This thread is to hopefully share some advice from my experiences to hopefully prepare you guys well for the exam and give you some practical ways to revise effectively.

I know some of the bulletpoints are long, but reading them may just be the thing you need to push up your grade or get those marks you need!

- Only use what works for you, try several different ways to revise, find your most effective and stick to it! Think of it as an investment if you have to - even if this means putting the phone down in another room for an hour, you invest that time then to pick up more marks in the exam.

-Use the syllabus as a checklist, make marks on it on things you do and don't know (I used green, yellow, and red pen - green for what I did know, yellow if I needed to go over it soon, red if I needed to go over it urgently) this keeps revision logical and straightforward, allowing you to plan ahead if needed.

-Learning one subject one day, then leaving it for a while before revisiting it is pointless. When you revise something break it down into small notes that you can carry around with you, then look at these notes over the next few days - on the bus home, when walking home, during dinner - just make sure to refresh yourself.