The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry

May get suspended for some time from Warwick

I'm a first year international student at Warwick and my father has a problem with paying the first installment fee which is 50% of the total.

As he is an entrepreneur and often invests money, he is currently experiencing a delay with his partner who needs to return him some funds. The good thing is this is a temporary thing only.

However the first installment is still not paid and Warwick finance told me that they will suspend me next week until I pay. From what I gathered the suspension is not that serious as I can still attend lectures but won't have supervisions and such things, but as I am an international student I am worried about my Visa as university must report non payment of fees to the border agency.
I am also worried that the uni won't let me take the January exams which I have next week, or will they do no such thing?

Did anyone have experience with this?

The good news is that my father will pay the fee in a week or two. I will send an email to notify them of that but I already told them a few times that the fee will be paid soon so they may not believe me anymore.

Thanks

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 1
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry
I think this question best be talked with the university.

Good luck friend, hopefully things will work out. Remember, the people working at universities are also human, all too human, and will try to help you. After all, you are (what is it now 11k?) an investment, you are a fee-paying asset. They don't want to lose you, they are not out there to get you, they are there to help you (and get paid).

Honestly, go talk with the student finance dept. Alternatively the tutor that is most favourable.