The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Open University vs University Of London External Program

I am currently studying 4 courses with the open university (MST121, M248, M249 and MS221) which will count towards a degree in mathematics and statistics. So far I am very impressed with the learning material provided and the open unviersity in general, however there is a lot of work involved and I am having real concerns about the value of the degree which I will (hopefully) acheive.

I have recently found out about The University Of London External Programs and I am wondering weather I would be better off leaving the open university and starting BSc Mathematics and Economics offered by the University of London External Programme even though it would set me back a year.

Which degree do you think is better?

Scroll to see replies

Don't know the answer to that one but I've looked at the UoL external programme too and wondered the same, so I'll be watching this thread :smile:
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
university of london ..offer little and sometimes no help at all..the administration staff are rude and unhelpful and rather stuck up, and seem to have lost touch with modern day society as most of them are well above the ages of 60. although a university of london degree is a better degree i believe in the end, but the open university is more widely recognised and a lot more help and guidance is given. im studying law with the u of london and regret choosing them,all they essentially do is take ur money post ur books and leave u till next may to sit an exam. not the best way to get the best out of ur education.
OU degrees are as well regarded as any brick uni, sometimes more considering you're required to be a lot more self-motivated.
Reply 4
Alessandro_22