The Student Room Group

21 years old and no work experience. Need advice.

Hi guys,
Im 21 years old, currently studying a degree in Food and Nutrition (getting low marks atm, :l) nvm.

Ive had no work experience. Ive had low confidence in the past, and been a bit slow. Only experience I have is volunteering in a small minor foodbank.

Can you please let me know where I can find a part time job?? Dont know where to look, and find one.
Just apply to as many as you can fix. Applying online at places like indeed is the easiest way but going into businesses and shops in person will give you a far better likelihood of getting you the job as long as your present yourself well
Reply 2
1. Print out 100 copies of CV.
2. Pick a quiet-ish time of day/week.
3. Walk into shop and ask for the manager.
4. Hand in CV (to shop assistant if manager isn't available and ask to pass on).
5. Repeat till you run out of CVs.
Reply 3
Change your CV when applying for jobs. I'm a university graduate and I'm struggling at the moment too even tho I have lots of work experience. Christmas would have been the best time since companies hire lots of temps.
I would consider you gain work experience or even volunteer at a local charity. Ask around.
Reply 5
Original post by Boreism
I would consider you gain work experience or even volunteer at a local charity. Ask around.

Ive done some volunteering at a foodbank, which I've now finished.
I also recieved an invitation to volunteer at a fire service, but I rang them today and told them that I am now looking for work instead. They've took me off the record.

Thanks for the advice everyone. I appreciate it.
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 6
Original post by Naveed-7
I also recieved an invitation to volunteer at a fire service, but I rang them today and told them that I am now looking for work instead. They've took me off the record.